Walking in Beauty

After a really warm yesterday and first warm night the cherry tree in our garden is in full blossom.

One of my golden books that mean a world to me, is Navajo Weaving Way about crafts of Navajo Indians. When Navajos create their traditional baskets and blankets, the whole process is a ritual, in which every detail matters. When they weave, they think beautiful thoughts. It is crucially important. While we are more accustomed to words like good and bad, Navajo Indians put beauty in the center of their worldview.

“In the Navajo language there is no word for religion, nor for art. The only word that could be used to describe both is “hózhó” – a word that defines the essence of Navajo or Diné philosophy. It encompasses beauty, order, and harmony, and expresses the idea of striving for balance. Every aspect of Navajo life, secular and spiritual, is related to hózhó.” 

Ellen O’Neil Rife

They believe, when we travel through life in this way we are walking in beauty. There are many ceremonies and many chants, but I want to share a few lines from Navajo Night Way’s prayer. I know, I have poor knowledge of this wonderful and rich culture, but everything I’ve found out so far, since I’ve discovered a special inner relationship with Navajo Nation, really inspires me.

May it be beautiful before me.
May it be beautiful behind me.
May it be beautiful below me.
May it be beautiful above me.
May it be beautiful all around me.

In beauty may I walk.
All day long may I walk.
Through the returning seasons may I walk.
On the trailed marked with pollen may I walk.
With grasshoppers about my feet may I walk.
With dew about my feet may I walk.
With beauty may I walk.
With beauty before me, may I walk.
With beauty behind me, may I walk.
With beauty above me, may I walk.
With beauty below me, may I walk.
With beauty all around me, may I walk.

Full text here.

Lifestyle Wanderlust

5 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Thank you for featuring this. I hope it challenges more people to think about how to weave in beautiful thoughts and intentions into their seemingly mundane daily routine.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. For some reason, this reminded me of the first stanza in Lord Byron’s poem called “She Walks In Beauty.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for this.

      She walks in beauty, like the night
      Of cloudless climes and starry skies;
      And all that’s best of dark and bright
      Meet in her aspect and her eyes;
      Thus mellowed to that tender light
      Which heaven to gaudy day denies.

      Like

      • Yes, that’s it. I just sort of read your post and that’s exactly what came to mind for me. I actually had to look up the poem too to make sure, and that was it.

        No problem. I’m glad I could help. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

