Apocalyptic Beauty

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Apocalyptic beauty. Weather changed in an instant.

To live in a house by the sea means to fall in love with many moods of weather. It’s all just a part of who sea is. For the first time since I live here I experienced a day like this. Blue sky, yellow sun. All Sunday spent outside in the warm hugs of lovely Spring. Suddenly white smoke filled our garden, like a giant smoke machine would be set there by the woods and turned on. At first we thought that someone is burning a pile of old leaves, but no, those were not smokes. Just a fog, coming in so fast like wearing talaria. As it turned out the sea suddenly brought a very cold weather in this sunny day and the whole scene changed in an instant. Apocalyptic beauty. Sea is always here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Sea lives behind the pine trees. View from my veranda. A few minutes ago the sky was blue.
10 Comments

Add yours →

    • Yes, and it reminded me of this quote from Hemingway’s “The Old Man and the Sea” 🙂 “He always thought of the sea as la mar which is what people call her in Spanish when they love her. Sometimes those who love her say bad things of her but they are always said as though she were a woman.”

      Like

  1. Growing up, I always wanted a cottage by the sea. This post reminded me of that – I love it and what it represents. Thanks for sharing such lovely thoughts. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • How lovely to remind of a childhood dream. I hope you will fulfill it 🙂 No one else lives in such a harmony with their true heartbeats as kids do ❤ I wanted to be a writer, but I became a journalist, which is not really the same. Now I quit and started to write a book 🙂 To the dreams!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for reminding me my childhood again.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A couple of times in New Zealand last month I saw clouds that looked like they were smoke from forest fires.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

