Sea is my Verdi

bbb_142

Luck

Is that luck? Or something else? When I quit my job more than two years ago, I had all the time in the world, but just a vague idea what will I do next. What is my purpose? I spent a year of inner search. I just let me be and learned to hear the hum of my heart. I stumbled upon a big biography book about Verdi. It was written by Mary Jane Phillips-Matz, amazing woman, mother of five, who spent 30 years to research and write her magnum opus. She even spent her summers in Verdi’s hometown of Bussetto. I felt that’s something I’m made for. To have a subject that has a penetrating meaning to me and gives more meaning to everything else. True passion that you can’t fake for long.

bbb_143bbb_144

People are different. There are sprinters and marathon runners. I wrote in my diary with a thirst for an answer: “What is my Verdi?” I’m lucky that eventually I heard the salty beats of my heart and found the sea. There are so many beautiful encounters on this journey. Yesterday we visited museum and saw an amazing artwork by Latvian artist Voldemars Johansons called Thirst. A video projection of a sea in a raging storm with an accompanying blasting sound. I could sit in that room forever. A symphony of the sea. Mesmerizing.

P.S. When I went to bed yesterday, I read a few more pages of Virginia Woolf’s “To the Lighthouse”. Found one beautiful quote about love, that could be said about true passion as well. My world has changed ever since I found “my Verdi”. 

“They became part of that unreal but penetrating and exciting universe which is the world seen through the eyes of love . The sky stuck to them; the birds sang through them.”

Virginia Woolf, To the Lighthouse, 1927

bbb_145

 

10 Comments

Add yours →

  1. secretyellowhome March 18, 2017 — 11:41

    I could watch the sea forever too, it’s completely mesmerising!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. No luck! All about hard work – thinking and doing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can feel the sea in the pictures! Must have been a moving experience.

    Very interesting to read about the author and her Verdi. I think the best thing to do for oneself is to find ones own – our sacred duty.
    I’m so glad you found yours, and it also gives hope and inspiration to others.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I so love those pictures. I so love this ocean when it is stormy I like that with big waves. Nice writing also. Have fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! Yes, it was amazing experience to watch these super stormy waves, to hear it all so loud, while sitting in a warm and dark room. Cinema of the sea 🙂 At the same time to experience it in real-life is more fun although more scary as well. But I really enjoyed this artwork.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. When I saw the post’s title I wondered why you chose Verdi, as opposed to so many other composers. Then I read further and saw that the attraction for you was the dedication shown by the author of Verdi’s biography.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

