Built for it

bbb_built-for-it

via Discover Challenge: Transcript

A couple of years ago my life changed in many ways. One of them was leaving the digital age a bit and reclaiming myself as a person, who has hands with ten fingers and who has head, not only a few fingers and two browsing eyes. A person who can lift things, open, turn, tear and stick together, not only browse and touch flat surfaces with one tiny fingertip.

I started to take notes each and every day and to write longhand letters (and to receive longhand letters back as well!). Almost two years have passed without any social media and I discovered a lot about myself. Now I can share it with other like-minded people and regain a balance in this digital age. A few months ago I created Beach Books Blog. So here I am.

But I really believe that we are “built for it”. Built for tactile sensations. I really believe that we need a mindful balance to keep our mind deep and calm.

Β Transcript

About the post

sea, Writing

11 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Harold Rhenisch January 10, 2017 — 17:46

    Well said, thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Like πŸ™‚

    2017-01-10 19:35 GMT+02:00 Beach Books Blog :

    > beachbooksblog posted: ” via Discover Challenge: Transcript A couple of > years ago my life changed in many ways. One of them was leaving the digital > age a bit and reclaiming myself as a person, who has hands with ten fingers > and who has head, not only a few fingers and two brow” >

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for sharing. I usually write a hand written message in my Christmas cards. I also hand write letters to my friend in England. She doesn’t often write back as she has young children. I often include a photocopy of an old hand written letter she has sent me with comments about the memories the letter evokes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • How lovely! & photo copy of an old letter is such a great idea. I believe it is so interesting for your friend to read it, because we forget so fast what we thought and did in past, and our own letters is a wonderful document – which we usually can’t access, just the letters we have received not sent. Your photocopy idea is great.

      Like

  4. So great you did that! Do you feel like you’re still keeping the balance after these months? I’d like to do one day of the week with no electronics… But I usually only do one day with no cell phone…. I’m working up to it πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t have smartphone, so I don’t bring the virtual world with me. It just sits on my table, if I have time to sit down there and go online. I suppose I’m the addictive type, so it’s easier for me to get rid of things I don’t need, and not to try to keep a diet. That’s why I’m still not on FB, I don’t need that, but I’ve discovered that WordPress is great. It’s more content based and the people here usually really read and care and give feedback. It’s not just sharing without reading or publishing bunch of time wasters. I tried out Twitter a few days ago and I’m a bit dizzy there so maybe I will not stay there. πŸ™‚ When I feel I’m losing balance, I just plug off and open a book. It always works, it gets me back on track.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m the same, I guess… I rather keep it simple and don’t have things. I anyway believe in keeping things simple. I have facebook, but that’s only because my family lives an ocean away and it’s a good way to stay in contact, and also so that I get to put the work that I do out there. I do my best to use the internet on my smartphone only in ’emergencies’ πŸ™‚
        I definitely agree about wordpress. I’m new here but I really feel like people care and do read and give comments. That is so lovely πŸ™‚
        I love that you are mindful and then pug off! ❀

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Welcome to the digital world again. Hugs. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

