Sneak Peek Sea Notes

bbb_snkpk_2_1

I’m in love with words. Maybe that’s why I call my notes “Sea Synopsis: Salty Synapses”. Notes on sea that trigger tips of my nerves and fill my marine memory. This morning I woke up with a blazing white snow storm outside the house and some “Ulysses” reading here in my studio.

Apart from other books, that I’m reading during the day or before bed, it’s already 10 months since I started James Joyce’s big blue book – page after page (almost) every morning. I consume it slow. Not as a bitter pill, but as a masterpiece maze, that I want to explore, enjoy and maybe even understand. I take notes in my “Sea Synopsis: Salty Synapses” and here is a sneak peek of some.

bbb_snkpk_2_2

bbb_snkpk_2_3

When I finished the 10th chapter called “Wandering Rocks”, I read a bit of Stuart Gilbert’s handbook. I love it not jus because it explains hidden references, but mostly because Mr Gilbert wrote it under Joyce’s own guidance. Approved handbook in a way.

bbb_45

“Ulysses” is loosely and wisely based on Homer’s “Odyssey”. Wandering Rocks is an ancient greek legend of one really bad place in the eastern seas. It’s not possible to sail there because of these “wandering rocks” that can smash your ship like a juicy berry between two fingers. Although it’s a legend, the sea is full of not so promising places.

Before bed I’m reading about Jonathan Raban’s sailing in Alaska. I’m in the middle of this wonderful book “Passage to Juneau”. In one chapter Raban writes about a place called Desolation Sound – a labyrinth of islands and rocks, a chaos of winds and tides. It’s almost impossible to predict there anything and really hard to sail through safely even nowadays. This is not a legend, it’s Alaska.

Sea synopsis and lots of salty synapses. I love to connect these tiny dots in my marine memory and write them down.

Leave a Reply

