Wow! My First Award!

entertainer

The Rules:
– Thank the person who nominated you and link to their blog.
– Add these rules to your post.
– Answer all the questions below.
– Display the award picture in your post.
– Nominate 12 bloggers who are funny, inspiring and entertaining.

I was so surprised of being tagged for The Enterainer Blogger Award, and I say a big and warm thank you, jenacidebybibliophile. Thanks so much!


The Questions:

1. Why did you start a blog in the first place?

When I quit my job a couple of years ago and started to search for my own way, I quit any social media as well. I wanted to silent down any distractions and turn up the volume of my heart. I wanted to put down touch screens and fall in love with the tactile world. I returned to books, to writing a real diary (where I recorded all the colors, sounds, events, some thoughts of the day), to spending time in nature – I have a garden, a river, a forest and a seaside in hands reach. I even started to write longhand letters to my best friend. And we write to each other for two years already.

I know it all sounds a bit of a cliche, but it actually worked for me. I discovered what my dreams are and now I follow them. At one point I knew I want to reach out. Didn’t want to return to Facebook, because I’m more interested in other people’s dreams, in being authentic and writing from heart, not in what they eat, where they drink and what articles they share. I’m not against it, but I’m just not interested.

Then I found out, that blogs are such a beautiful Internet pocket, where to listen and be heard. Where to find like-minded souls and inspire others. It’s more like writing meaningful letters instead of instant messaging. That’s how I got here.

2. What is your favorite book?

Impossible to choose, but I really love Hemingway. However I will highlight one special book that gave me the first tiny clue of what is the song of my heart. It’s Thomas Wright’s Oscar’s Books (Chatto & Windus, 2008). It’s such a great research of Oscar Wilde – the avid reader. I falled in love with books and reading by spending time with this golden book. It’s just amazingly inspiring. Did you know that Oscar Wilde was a real bookworm? He really teared tiny scratches from pages and chewed them while being completely immersed in reading. And all his notes and doodles in the margins of his favorite books. Deeply personal, and very beautiful!

3. What do you dislike the most?

The dark and shallow side of our digital age. But there’s lots of good things too. We just need to learn some hygiene.

4. What is your favorite food item at the mall?

Don’t know about that mall part, but here are my favorites: hot coffee in the morning – food for my thoughts and fuel for my typewriter; anything my kids want for dinner – food for my tummy; a good book in the evening – food for my soul.

5. What is your favorite pastime?

Charles Dickens’ idea of a holiday was sitting down by the sea and watching waves. I can totally understand that.

My nominations:

Debi Bradford Photography

Portraits of Wildflowers

Zen Scribbles

The Salty Vegan

BREK

VIVID LENS VIEW

Wolfman’s Cult Film Club

Cinéphile

Le Drake Noir

Jhanric’s Blog

Claire Fuller

Luveld

Love to you all!

Leave a Reply

